het Theater Festival

A Love Supreme

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

The album A Love Supreme by saxophonist John Coltrane is brimming with explosive energy and expressivity. The recording – which was completed in one extensive take – accompanied by the trio who had been with Coltrane for years: McCoy Tyner on piano, Jimmy Garrisson on bass and Elvin Jones on drums. Their music is still considered one of the greatest milestones in jazz history.

In 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker collaborated with Salva Sanchis to create a quartet set to Coltrane’s musical composition. With a new cast of young performers, De Keersmaeker and Sanchis have reworked A Love Supreme to create an exceptionally vital, evening-length performance.

Four male dancers seize the interplay between the four musicians in Coltrane’s quartet. Their movements and the music converge seamlessly, but the freedom that both the music and the dancers exude will transport you into an unforgettable delirium. Never before have you received such clear insight into Coltrane’s complex improvisations.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker is the founder of the Rosas dance company, with which she garnered global fame. Twenty years ago, she founded her own dance school, PARTS, in Brussels. Salva Sanchis was among the first generation of students who graduated from PARTS. His work focuses on the dialogue between improvisation and predetermined movements. His last production, Radical Light, was selected for this year’s TheaterFestival.

choreography Salva Sanchis, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by José Paulo dos Santos, Bilal El Had, Jason Respilieux, Thomas Vantuycom | original version created in 2005 by Cynthia Loemij, Moya Michael, Salva Sanchis, Igor Shyshko | music A Love Supreme, John Coltrane | recording tenor saxophone, vocals: John Coltrane, piano: McCoy Tyner, bass: Jimmy Garrison, drums: Elvin Jones Acknowledgement, Resolution, Pursuance & Psalm © Coltrane, J., © Jowcol Music, Inc. (Universal Music Publ. N.V.) | lighting design Luc Schaltin, Jan Versweyveld | recast lighting design
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Luc Schaltin | costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz | rehearsal director Salva Sanchis, Cynthia Loemij, Bryana Fritz | artistic coordination, planning Anne Van Aerschot | technical director Joris Erven | costumes coordinator Heide Vanderieck | wardrobe Ella De Vos, Sophia Evgenikos, Emma Zune | technicians Joris de Bolle, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets, Bert Veris | production Rosas | coproduction De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles) | special thanks to Erik Bogaerts, Jeroen Van Herzeele
€22 (normal) / € 18 (-25/65+) / € 10 (-19)
duration: 60 min.