het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“Not the big shots, but a group of drama students seduced the jury this year. Their version of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf brings together the best of theatre: contemporary writing, intelligent set design, existential drama and four greedy actors who want to conquer the world.”

#jury20

“When four young actors play Edward Albee's 'Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf?' at the end of their training, you don't immediately expect a small masterpiece. Yet this interpretation comes pretty close. They play the stage masterfully.”

PZAZZ

“This is genuinely intelligent theatre. Subtle and strong performer theatre.”

TAZette

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf

WOLF WOLF

Meanwhile, many know the story of Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf? : George and Martha vent their deepest frustrations by blaming each other and drag their nightly guests, Nick and Honey, into a destructive psychological game. Flor Van Severen, Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem and Naomi van der Horst have ventured into this ‘play of plays’ with which they completed their training together at the theatre school in Ghent.

How does one, as a young actor, slip into the shoes of a character with such a rich history? How do you interpret a modern classic, so many versions of which have already been brought to the stage and screen, both by amateurs and Hollywood stars? Through their characters, the actors engage in a battle with truth and appearance. Gradually, everyone is absorbed into the fiction. In this interpretation too, there is a certainty: it promises a long after-party until dawn. And no one will be spared.

by & with Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem, Naomi van der Horst & Flor Van Severen | text
Edward Albee | translation Gerard Reve (in collaboration with author agency ALMO bvba) | coaching Jan Bijvoet & Jan Steen | light design & technique Gilles Pollak
€18 (basic price) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 140 min.
language: NL spoken

Flor Van Severen, Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem and Naomi van der Horst have played at FC Bergman, Studio Orka, Hof van Eede, Malpertuis and the KIP, among others. Together they form the new collective WOLF WOLF. In their joint work they try to deepen the stage repertoire out of a love for playing and at the same time make it accessible to a wide audience.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Non pas les grosses pointures, mais un groupe d’étudiants en art dramatique ont séduit le jury cette année. Leur version de Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf réunit le meilleur du théâtre : une écriture contemporaine, une scénographie intelligente, un drame existentiel et quatre acteurs gourmands qui veulent conquérir le monde.”

#jury20

“Lorsque quatre jeunes acteurs jouent "Qui a peur de Virginia Woolf" d'Edward Albee à la fin de leur formation, on ne s'attend pas immédiatement à un petit chef-d'œuvre. Pourtant, cette interprétation y est assez proche.”

PZAZZ

“C'est vraiment du théâtre intelligent. Un théâtre d'acteurs subtil et fort. ”

TAZette

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

WOLF WOLF

Beaucoup connaissent entre-temps l’histoire de Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf ? : George et Martha se défoulent en s’imputant réciproquement leurs frustrations les plus profondes et entraînent leurs invités nocturnes, Nick et Honey, dans un jeu psychologique destructif. Flor Van Severen, Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem et Naomi van der Horst se sont risqués à cette « pièce des pièces » avec laquelle ils ont achevé ensemble leur formation à l’école de théâtre à Gand.

Comment se glisse-t-on, en tant que jeune acteur, dans la peau d’un personnage à l’histoire si riche ? Comment interprète-t-on un classique moderne dont de si nombreuses versions ont déjà été portées à la scène et à l’écran, aussi bien par des amateurs que par des vedettes hollywoodiennes ? À travers leurs personnages, les acteurs engagent le combat avec la vérité et l’apparence. Progressivement, chacun est absorbé dans la fiction. Dans cette interprétation aussi, il y a une certitude : elle promet une longue after jusqu’à l’aube. Et personne ne sera épargné.

de et avec Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem, Naomi van der Horst & Flor Van Severen | texte Edward Albee | traduction Gerard Reve (en collaboration avec l'agence d'auteur ALMO bvba) | coaching Jan Bijvoet & Jan Steen | conception lumière & technique Gilles Pollak

€18 (prix de base) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 140 min.
langue: Parlé en NL

Flor Van Severen, Imke Mol, Mitch Van Landeghem et Naomi van der Horst ont joué, entre autres, avec FC Bergman, Studio ORKA, Hof van Eede, Malpertuis et het KIP. Ensemble, ils forment le nouveau collectif WOLF WOLF. À partir d’une passion pour le jeu, le collectif tente d’explorer en profondeur le répertoire théâtral et de le rendre accessible à un large public.