het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“Not only does Da Silva proves to be an excellent performer and director with a strong research
impulse, her stage text also shows a mature autonomous ability to make”

Jury Report TAZ#2019

“Her ‘come to daddy’ is more terrifying than Jack Nicholson’s ‘Here’s Jimmy!’”

Theaterkrant

The Journey

Venus Pop Grotto! / Anna Luka da Silva & Nora Ramakers

Humanity is a monstrous centaur. (…); he sees within himself something which is not himself, and which is stronger than himself.” – Joseph De Maistre

In The Journey Anna Luka takes us on a dark trip through her memories. With language inspired by the lyricism of Faust and the broken English of the Urban Dictionary she tackles images of her youth. Disguised as an unchancy vaudeville entertainer she scrapes up the debris and tries to get rid of it in a painfully cartoonish way. But her intention is not to forget. ​The Journey​ is a quest to transcend the suffering body. Because how else does a victim find its way out of victimhood?

concept, texte & performance Anna Luka da Silva | mise en scène Nora Ramakers | portrait
Tiny Geeroms | images et bande-annonce Anastasija Pirozenko | image de l'affiche
Josephine van Schendel | production Venus Pop Grotto! | remerciements Guilherme Miotto
BRONKS
Grote zaal
€16 (basic price) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 40 min.
language: EN

Venus Pop Grotto!

Venus Pop Grotto! is a performing arts collective founded by Nora Céline Ramakers and Anna Luka da Silva. They met during their education (2015 – 2018) at the Institute of Performative Arts in Maastricht (the Netherlands), which marked the start of a growing bond that transformed from superficial love into a symbiotic sisterhood. In their work they express their longing to reconnect through nature through our bodies. As female artists they feel that the exploitation of both nature and women is largely due to systems that we cannot simply undo. What they can do is bring into being a tiny biotope: the ritual. They find that ritual enables us to consciously build relationships between human and non-human agents. They like ‘digging in the dirt’ to arouse fertile soil on which we can build an e(co)motional bridge between the conceptual world and physical beings. A bridge that empowers and restores the mutual dance between all hot forms of life!

Keywords in the work of Venus Pop Grotto! are (eco)feminism, ecosexuality, climate politics and the essence of nature!

They performed at several festivals (Theater Aan Zee, Jonge Harten, Love at First Sight and Theaterfestival De Parade) and respected Dutch and Belgian stages (Toneelhuis, CAMPO, Frascati, Theater Rotterdam). In 2019 The Journey got awarded with the main festival prize at Theater Aan Zee in Ostend, Belgium. 

Currently, they are part of a talent development trajectory with Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam and Het Atelier: a long term research project in co-production with Oerol and Over Het IJ Festival.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Da Silva ne se contente pas de prouver qu'elle est une excellente interprète et une metteuse en scène dotée d'un fort élan de recherche, son texte dramatique témoigne également d'un talent naturel.

Rapport du Jury TAZ#2019

The Journey

Venus Pop Grotto! / Anna Luka da Silva & Nora Ramakers

Humanity is a monstrous centaur. (…); he sees within himself something which is not himself, and which is stronger than himself.” Joseph De Maistre

Avec ​The Journey​, Anna Luka nous emmène dans des recoins obscurs de sa mémoire. Dans une langue inspirée du lyrisme de Faust et de l’anglais brisé de Urban Dictionnary, elle aborde des images de sa jeunesse. Déguisée en artiste de vaudeville raté, elle en récure les débris et tente de s’en libérer dans un acte cruellement caricatural. Mais son intention n’est pas d’oublier. ​The Journey​ est une tentative de dépasser le corps en souffrance. Autrement, comment une victime pourrait-elle sortir de la victimisation?

concept, texte & performance Anna Luka da Silva | mise en scène Nora Ramakers | portrait
Tiny Geeroms | images et bande-annonce Anastasija Pirozenko | image de l'affiche
Josephine van Schendel | production Venus Pop Grotto! | remerciements Guilherme Miotto
BRONKS
Grote zaal

€16 (prix de base) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 40 min.
langue: NL

Venus Pop Grotto!

Venus Pop Grotto! est le collectif de performance de Nora Ramakers et Anna Luka da Silva. Elles se sont rencontrées durant leur formation en performance (2015-2018) à l’Académie de théâtre de Maastricht où leur relation a évolué d’affinités superficielles à une sororité symbiotique. Leurs productions expriment un désir partagé de rétablir notre relation à la nature. En tant que femmes de théâtre, elles considèrent que l’exploitation de la nature aussi bien que de la femme est à imputer en grande partie à des systèmes auxquels on ne peut pas simplement mettre fin. Ce qu’elles peuvent faire, c’est créer un petit biotope : le rituel. Les rituels leur permettent de sciemment (re)construire des relations entre êtres humains et agents non humains. Aussi creusent-elles volontiers profondément dans la boue jusqu’à ce qu’elles trouvent un sous-sol fertile pour y jeter un pont é(co)motionnel entre le monde conceptuel et physique. Un pont qui autonomise et rétablit la danse inépuisable entre toutes les formes de vie sensuelles.

Les mots-clés de Venus Pop Grotto! sont (éco)féminisme et écosexualité, politique climatique et l’essence de la nature.

On a précédemment pu voir leurs productions dans différents festivals (Theater Aan Zee, Jonge Harten, Love at First Sight et Theaterfestival De Parade) et dans des théâtres renommés aux Pays-Bas et en Flandre (Toneelhuis, CAMPO, Frascati, Theater Rotterdam). En août 2019, The Journey leur a valu le prix principal décerné aux jeunes talents par le festival Theater aan Zee à Ostende.

Actuellement, elles font partie d’un trajet de développement de talent organisé conjointement par la maison de production Theater Rotterdam et Het Atelier ; un trajet de recherche de longue durée en partenariat avec des festivals Oerol et Over Het IJ.