het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“Their weapon: to play! With words and images! But razor sharp. So close to who they are. But it's just this closeness that counts: it opens the door to really play with meanings, to name and demine issues in one movement.”

#jury20

“Seks(e)(n) is one of the most beautiful, touching and important things de KOE has ever made [...] unusually witty, sharp and revealing.”

Focus Knack

“The refreshing standpoints on stage invite you to make connections to the world outside the theatre. Seks(e)(n) is #thisisourculture at its best, a protest on stage!”

thisishowweread.be

seks(e)(n)

de KOE & mugmetdegoudentand

No more gender inequality according to de KOE and mugmetdegoudentand. The companies were inspired by Goethe’s novel Die Wahlverwandtschaften, set up as an amorous experiment in the style of Temptation Island. Do the characters fall prey to their passions and drives, the so-called laws of nature? Or does reason prevail? Even then, the ending was catastrophic.

In seks(e)(n) the novel is stripped down completely. Using the same ingredients – two men, two women, a garden – the theater makers embark on a totally new experiment, in a contemporary climate. In Goethe’s time, nature was still a place without people: we could not exist without it, but it could exist without us. In 2020 we have occupied, controlled and conditioned almost every square inch of the earth, depriving it of its wildness, its unpredictability. What is still ‘natural’?

Seks(e)(n) is about pigeonholing and labels, about definitions and appropriations, about freedom and malleability. Four people work their way through a lexicon of new and old terms, trying to grasp and refine them. Seks(e)(n) is about being on the move, being in free fall. Above all, seks(e)(n) is an opening.

by & with Lineke Rijxman, Natali Broods, Willem de Wolf & Peter Van den Eede | based on the ideas of Die Wahlverwandtschaften by Johann Wolfgang Goethe | scenography, sound & light Bram De Vreese & Shane Van Laer | music Ramses Van den Eede | costumes Julie De Meester & Jente De Graef | many thanks to Wannes Gyselinck & Ans Van den Eede | production de KOE & mugmetdegoudentand | coproduction Het Laatste Bedrijf | with support from the Belgian Federal government's Tax Shelter measure | with the help of Gallop Tax Shelter
€14 (basic price) / €10 (65+/-26/-18/pro)
duration: 100 min.
language: NL

de KOE
mugmetdegoudentand

De KOE is a laboratory for research, experiment and innovation with a hedonistic bent. Through an ever changing process our texts and our repertoire, our autobiography and our reading, our memories and our views, continue to make different connections with each other, resulting in authentic and playable material for witty, humorous and personal performances, apparently apolitical.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Leurs armes : jouer ! Avec des mots et des images ! Mais sur le fil du rasoir. À peine à un cheveu de qui ils sont dans la réalité. Mais c’est précisément cette épaisseur d’un cheveu qui compte : elle ouvre le champ pour vraiment jouer avec des significations, pour désigner et déminer des questions en un mouvement.”

#jury20

“Seks(e)(n) est l'une des choses les plus belles, les plus touchantes et les plus importantes que de KOE ait jamais faites [...] inhabituellement ludique, vif et surprenant.”

Focus Knack

“Les points de vue rafraîchissants sur scène vous invitent à établir des liens avec le monde en dehors du théâtre. Seks(e)(n), c'est #cetteourculture à son summum, une manifestation sur scène !”

thisishowweread.be

seks(e)(n)

de KOE & mugmetdegoudentand

Finie l’inégalité entre les sexes! De KOE et mugmetdegoudentand se laissent inspirer par le roman Les Affinités électives de Goethe, conçu comme une expérience amoureuse rappelant Temptation Island. Les personnages seront-ils victimes de leurs passions et pulsions, des soi-disant lois naturelles? Ou la raison finira-t-elle par triompher? Déjà à l’époque, l’issue était une catastrophe!

Pour seks(e)(n), le roman est entièrement dépouillé. À partir des mêmes ingrédients – deux hommes, deux femmes, un jardin – les quatre créateurs entament une toute nouvelle expérience dans un climat contemporain. Du temps de Goethe la nature était encore un environnement dépourvu d’êtres humains: si nous ne pouvions pas vivre sans elle, elle se débrouillait parfaitement sans nous. En 2020, quasiment chaque centimètre carré du globe a été occupé, contrôlé et conditionné par nous. Nous avons ainsi privé la nature de sa sauvagerie, de son imprévisibilité. Qu’est-ce qui est encore ‘naturel’ de nos jours?

Seks(e)(n) parle de catégories et d’étiquettes, de définitions et d’appropriations, de liberté et de malléabilité de la vie. Quatre individus se fraient un chemin à travers un lexique d’expressions nouvelles et anciennes, tentent de les saisir et de les clarifier. Dans seks(e)(n) il s’agit d’être constamment en route, d’être toujours en plein saut. Avant tout, seks(e)(n) est une ouverture.

de & avec Lineke Rijxman, Natali Broods, Willem de Wolf et Peter Van den Eede | d'après les idées de Die Wahlverwandtschaften de Johann Wolfgang Goethe | décor & régie technique Bram De Vreese & Shane Van Laer | musique Ramses Van den Eede | costumes Julie De Meester & Jente De Graef | remerciements à Wannes Gyselinck & Ans Van den Eede | production de KOE & mugmetdegoudentand | coproduction Het Laatste Bedrijf | réalisé avec le soutien de la mesure Tax Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge | avec l'aide de Gallop Tax Shelter

€14 (prix de base) / €10 (65+/-26/-18/pro)

durée: 100 min.
langue: NL

de KOE
mugmetdegoudentand

De KOE est un laboratoire théâtral qui mène la recherche, l’expérimentation et la nouveauté sur un mode hédoniste. Nous y développons divers procédés grâce auxquels des liens toujours nouveaux se tissent entre nos textes, notre autobiographie et notre lecture, nos souvenirs et nos visions. Nous en tirons du matériel authentique, pour des représentations vivantes, métaphoriques et personnelles au message apparemment apolitique.