het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

Realtime

Dries Gijsels

“And time is just memory mixed with desire” – Tom Waits

In Realtime we follow a theatre director trying to create a show about time. But the past is out of reach and the future just won’t seem to start. Whilst the audience gets older and older, the premiere is rapidly getting closer.

How long does the present last and where does it go when it’s over? Do we still ever truly experience empty time? Or have we become too distracted by permanent stimuli? Shouldn’t technological progress mean we now have more time than ever?

Dries Gijsels and his crew create a restless and intriguing universe of soothsayers and ex-lovers, of delays and deadlines, of too much coffee and too little sleep. In a race against the clock, they try to find a new time zone where our attention is not fragmented and time can have a rest.

idea & direction Dries Gijsels | by and with Cédric Coomans, Eline Kuppens, Femke Stallaert & Greg Timmermans | dramaturgy Bart Capelle | costumes Anne-Cathérine Kunz | direction assistant Marie Pien | set Bert Van Dijck | light and sound design Bert Van Dijck, Hanne Dick & Milan De Wael | co-production Kultuurfaktorij Monty & C-takt | residencies K.A.K., Arsenaal/Lazarus, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek & De Nwe Tijd | thanks to Juul Dekker, Suzanne Grotenhuis, Jonas Devuyst, Wim Gijsels, Matthias
Hellemans & Tim Kluppels | with the support of the Flemish Community & the VGC | image © 2018 Max Pinckers
BRONKS
Grote Zaal
€16 (basic price) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18 )
duration: 80 min.
language: NL, surtitled in FR & EN

Dries Gijsels (Antwerp, °1986) is one of the driving forces within the Brussels theatre collective Koekelbergse Alliantie van Knutselaars. Over the past few years, he has made with K.A.K. Life, Death & Television and the nursery show Snøw, which he also directed.  In co-direction with Renée Goethijn he created No Use For Binoculars (2015) and Totally (2017). Realtime is the first performance he created and directed himself.

In his work, Gijsels examines the relationship between mankind and the ever more rapidly evolving technology, and questions the status of reality in a changing world. He files up the world as we know it and then reassembles it with hooks and eyes, in order to create a universe of his own, at once absurd and surrealistic. In this, humanity, humour and compassion are the ultimate accomplices to hold their own in a world that is becoming increasingly elusive.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Realtime expose particulièrement ingénieux les mécanismes de la compagnie de théâtre et est également une exploration sensible d'un artiste ayant peur de créer et d'une relation non résolue. C'est un délicieux méta-théâtre qui fait grésiller votre tête.”

De Standaard

Realtime

Dries Gijsels

And time is just memory mixed with desire” – Tom Waits

Dans Realtime, nous suivons un metteur en scène qui tente de créer un spectacle sur le temps. Mais le passé est loin derrière et le futur ne veut pas commencer. Alors que le public se fait de plus en plus vieux, le jour de la première approche.

Combien de temps dure le présent, et où disparaît-il ? Vivons-nous encore des moments vides ? Ou sommes-nous trop distraits par des stimulis permanents ? Ne devrions-nous pas, grâce à toutes les avancées technologiques, avoir plus de temps qu’auparavant ?

Dries Gijsels et sa bande façonnent un univers intriguant et sans temps morts, fait de voyantes et d’amours passés, de trop de café et pas assez de sommeil. Dans une course contre la montre ils tentent de découvrir une nouvelle zone temporelle, où l’attention n’est pas morcelée et où le temps peut se reposer un moment.

idée & mise en scène Dries Gijsels | de et avec Cédric Coomans, Eline Kuppens, Femke Stallaert & Greg Timmermans | dramaturgie Bart Capelle | costumes Anne-Cathérine Kunz | assistante mise en scène Marie Pien | décor Bert Van Dijck | technique Bert Van Dijck, Hanne Dick & Milan De Wael | co-production Kultuurfaktorij Monty & C-takt | résidences K.A.K., Arsenaal/Lazarus, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek & De Nwe Tijd | remerciements à Juul Dekker, Suzanne Grotenhuis, Jonas Devuyst, Wim Gijsels, Matthias Hellemans & Tim Kluppels | avec le soutien de La Communauté Flamande & de la VGC | image © 2018 Max Pinckers
BRONKS
Grote Zaal

€16 (prix de base) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18 )

durée: 80 min.
langue: NL, surtitré en FR & EN

Dries Gijsels (Anvers, °1986) est l’une des forces motrices du collectif de théâtre bruxellois Koekelbergse Alliantie van Knutselaars (Alliance koekelbergoise de bricoleurs), avec lequel il a créé ces dernières années, entre autres, Life, Death & Television et le spectacle pour enfants Snøw, qu’il a lui-même mis en scène. Avec Renée Goethijn comme co-metteuse en scène, il a créé No Use For Binoculars (2015) et Totally (2017).

Les productions de Gijsels explorent la relation entre l’être humain et la technologie en évolution de plus en plus rapide et interrogent le statut de la réalité dans un monde en mutation. Il dépèce le monde tel que nous le connaissons pour ensuite le réassembler, fût-ce de bric et de broc, et créer un univers bien à lui, à la fois absurde et surréaliste, dans lequel l’humanité, l’humour et la compassion sont les ultimes complices pour subsister dans un monde toujours plus insaisissable.