het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“In just under an hour and a half they playfully, romantically and absurdly interpret how Pierre, Andrei, Natasha, Dolochov and all those other characters from the book struggle with life. Like little children with a costume box, but intelligent and with a tingling text.”

Trouw

“Florian Myjer and Kim Karssen translate Tolstoy's War and Peace to the stage in an extremely successful way.”

het Parool

Oorlog en Vrede

Florian Myjer & Kim Karssen / Frascati Producties

After the successful Bloomsbury, Florian Myjer and Kim Karssen climb the Mount Everest of the world literature: War and Peace by Tolstoy. This will not be an ordinary adaptation of a novel, but a personal, explosive, megalomaniacal evening. Tolstoy’s characters live big and compelling. In freezing Russian winters, the family fortune is squandered, man dies far too young and far too gruesome, hearts are broken again and again, all this against the backdrop of Napoleon’s expedition against Russia. The contrast with the Netherlands today cannot be greater: we live relatively safely, longingly and fearfully. The petit-bourgeois mentality runs through our veins. With Tolstoy’s magnum opus we immerse ourselves in the essential existential question: How should we live?

by &with Florian Myjer & Kim Karssen | final direction Timothy de Gilde | costumes
Hanne Pierrot | sound design Jelle Hoekstra | decor Joey Schrauwen | thanks to De Warme Winkel | campaign image Lonneke van der Palen | lighting design Barbara de Beer | production Frascati Productions
BRONKS
Grote Zaal
€16 (basic price) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 85 min.
language: NL spoken

Frascati

Florian Myjer (Netherlands, 1992) is a unique voice in the performance landscape. With rich language and strong images he builds subtle representations in which civilization and beauty fight for precedence with hardness and the mire of the human soul. In the summer of 2017, Florian Myjer graduated from the performance training at the Maastricht Theater Academy with the acclaimed Bloomsbury, which he made with Kim Karssen about the ideas of the Bloomsbury Group. At Frascati Productions he made the overwhelming solo Oliver, after a successful tour he was awarded the TAZ De Grote Post Residentieprijs 2017. After this he made Regina Rex, nominated for the BNG Bank Theater Prize in 2018. 

Kim Karssen (Netherlands, 1996), theater maker and actress graduated in 2018 from the performance training at the Maastricht Theater Academy. In addition to Bloomsbury, Kim and Florian previously made ORGANZA or some sort of genocide (with Scott Robin Jun). Kim is also a performer at De Warme Winkel.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“En un peu moins d'une heure et demie, ils interprètent de façon ludique, romantique et absurde comment Pierre, Andreï, Natacha, Dolochov et tous ces autres personnages du livre luttent contre la vie. Comme de petits enfants avec des costumes, mais intelligents et avec un texte qui picote.”

Trouw

“Florian Myjer et Kim Karssen ont adapté le livre de Tolstoï Guerre et paix à la scène avec un énorme succès.”

het Parool

Oorlog en Vrede

Florian Myjer & Kim Karssen / Frascati Producties

Après le spectacle très acclamé Bloomsbury, Florian Myjer et Kim Karssen escaladent le mont Everest de la littérature mondiale : Guerre et Paix de Tolstoï. Ne vous attendez pas à une adaptation classique de roman, mais plutôt à du théâtre personnel, explosif et mégalomane. Les personnages de Tolstoï vivent de manière fastueuse et vibrante. Au cours d’hivers russes glaciaux, on perd toute la fortune familiale au jeu, on meurt bien trop jeune et de manière beaucoup trop violente et les cœurs ne cessent d’être brisés, le tout sur fond de campagne napoléonienne contre la Russie. Le contraste avec les Pays-Bas d’aujourd’hui ne peut être plus grand : on y vit relativement en sécurité, avec des exigences et des peurs. La mentalité petite-bourgeoise coule dans les veines bataves. Avec le chef-d’œuvre de Tolstoï, les créateurs s’immergent dans la question existentielle essentielle : comment faut-il vivre ?

de & avec Florian Myjer et Kim Karssen | mise en scène Timothy de Gilde | costumes
Hanne Pierrot | conception son Jelle Hoekstra | décor Joey Schrauwen | remerciements à
De Warme Winkel | image campagne Lonneke van der Palen | conception lumière Barbara de Beer | production Frascati Productions
BRONKS
Grote Zaal

€16 (prix de base) / €14 (65+/-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 85 min.
langue: Parlé en NL

Frascati

Florian Myjer (Pays-Bas, °1992) est une voix unique dans le paysage du spectacle vivant. Avec une langue riche et des images fortes, il crée des spectacles subtils dans lesquels culture et beauté se font une concurrence acharnée et s’affrontent avec rudesse dans la fange de l’âme humaine.

Florian Myjer a achevé sa formation en performance à l’été 2017 à l’Académie de Théâtre de Maastricht avec le spectacle très acclamé Bloomsbury, créé avec Kim Karssen, autour de la pensée du Bloomsbury Group. Sous les ailes de Frascati Producties, il a créé le surprenant solo Oliver, après une tournée à succès couronnée du Prix de la Résidence De Grote Post au festival TAZ 2017. Ensuite, il a créé Regina Rex, sélectionné en 2018 pour le Prix du Théâtre de la Banque BNG.

Kim Karssen (Pays-Bas, °1996), créatrice de théâtre et actrice, a achevé sa formation en performance à l’Académie de Théâtre de Maastricht en 2018. Outre Bloomsbury, Kim et Florian ont précédemment créé ORGANZA of een soort van genocide (avec Scott Robin Jun). En tant que performeuse, Kim est également rattachée à la compagnie De Warme Winkel.