het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“Everything is right: the flawless directing of terryn, superb acting and a steamy soundtrack that turns the ride into a physical experience.

#jury20

“A car ride that changes your life.”

De Standaard

“Locke is so powerful because it opts for simplicity in text, in play, in music and in direction. But it is out of simplicity that the most powerful theatre is born.”

Focus Knack

Locke

Compagnie Cecilia

Ivan Locke, a conscientious contractor and a good father, one evening leaves from work. At the junction where he normally turns left, he decides to turn right. What follows is one of the greatest movie scenarios ever in terms of structure and characters (written by Steven Knight, the man behind Peaky Blinders). During the hour and a half drive, we learn step by step what drives Ivan to put his entire life on the line.Locke is about taking responsibility and considering certain principles of paramount importance in a never-ending search for truth and truthfulness.

Each night, actors Tom Vermeir and Koen De Graeve toss each other for who is going to be the so-called ‘B-actor’, taking up six supporting roles, and who is going to be Ivan Locke, the leading part and so-called ‘frontman’, being surrounded by a four-headed rock band. Steam-driven by its original score, Locke ultimately balances on the verge of concert and theatrical performance. Directed by Yahya terryn, the performance has an important visual component, somehow creating a comforting yet uncompromising road movie aesthetic.

Text & direction Yahya terryn | With Koen De Graeve & Tom Vermeir | Live music Ben Brunin, Frederik Heuvinck, Luk Vermeir & Johannes Verschaeve | Dramaturgy Daan Borloo | Scenography Sam Declercq | Costumes Ellen Kromhout | Sound Saul Mombaerts | Light & video Bram Geldhof | Photography Kurt Van der Elst | Design poster Mario Debaene | Technical coordination Tom Declercq | Production coordination
Vicky terryn | Production Compagnie Cecilia | Co-production Perpodium | With the support of Flemish Government & City of Ghent & Taxshelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid
secret location in GHENT

€18 (basic price) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 140 min.
language: NL spoken

Compagnie Cecilia

Compagnie Cecilia relies on quality texts, daring actors and readable narratives. Compagnie Cecilia  creates shows that are accessible to the greatest number of people and are narratively dynamic, with a special focus on the acting profession. The language of the Cecilian theatre is recognizable, pure, carnal, playful, singular and troubling. Each time, the company tries to sacralize the temporal, the material: feet on the ground and head in the stars.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Tout concorde : la mise en scène impeccable de Terryn, un jeu d’acteur à s’en lécher les babines et une bande sonore bouillonnante qui fait du parcours une expérience physique.”

#jury20

“Un voyage en voiture qui change votre vie.”

De Standaard

“Locke est si fort parce qu'il opte pour la simplicité dans le texte, dans le jeu, dans la musique et dans la mise en scène. Mais c'est de la simplicité que naît le théâtre le plus fort.”

Focus Knack

Locke

Compagnie Cecilia

Après une journée de travail, Ivan Locke, chef de chantier consciencieux et bon père de famille, quitte son travail pour rentrer chez lui. Aux feux de signalisation, où il doit normalement tourner à gauche, il décide toutefois d’aller à droite. Ce qui suit est l’un des scénarios de film les plus forts en matière de structure et de personnages (de la main de Steven Knight, qui a créé, entre autres, la série Peaky Blinders). Durant un trajet en voiture d’environ une heure et demie, nous découvrons pas à pas ce qui incite Ivan à mettre en jeu son existence tout entière. Locke traite du fait d’assumer sa responsabilité et de suivre ses principes en sachant qu’on risque de tout perdre. Parce que la vérité est ce qu’il y a de plus important.

Avec les acteurs de premier plan Tom Vermeir et Koen De Graeve, le metteur en scène de théâtre Yahya Terryn s’attelle à ce récit poignant qui se déroule pendant un trajet en voiture. Chaque soir, un des deux acteurs interprète le rôle principal tandis que l’autre joue les six rôles secondaires. Le lendemain soir, tout peut faire volte-face. La bande sonore de la main de Johannes Verschaeve (The Van Jets), entre autres, génère encore davantage de tension. Bref, un tour de force théâtral.

Texte & mise-en-scène Yahya terryn | Avec Koen De Graeve & Tom Vermeir | Musique live Ben Brunin, Frederik Heuvinck, Luk Vermeir & Johannes Verschaeve | Dramaturgie
Daan Borloo | Scénographie Sam Declercq | Costumes Ellen Kromhout | Son Saul Mombaerts | Lumière & vidéo Bram Geldhof | Photographie Kurt Van der Elst | Design affiche Mario Debaene | Coordination technique Tom Declercq | Coordination de production Vicky terryn | Production Compagnie Cecilia | Coproduction Perpodium | Avec le soutien de Communauté flamande & Ville de Gand & Taxshelter van de Belgische Federale Overheid

lieu secret à GAND

€18 (prix de base) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 140 min.
langue: Parlé en NL

Compagnie Cecilia

Compagnie Cecilia mise sur des textes de qualité, des comédiens audacieux et des récits lisibles pour créer des spectacles accessibles au plus grand nombre et dynamiques sur le plan narratif, avec une attention particulière pour le métier de comédien. La langue du théâtre cécilien est reconnaissable, pure, charnelle, ludique, singulière et troublante. À chaque fois, la compagnie tente de sacraliser le temporel, le matériel : les pieds sur terre et la tête dans les étoiles.