het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“Dagboek van een leeg bed (Diary of an empty bed) is an intimate, poetic narrative in word, image and sound that is both personal and universal.”

theaterkrant.nl

“Dagboek van een leeg bed (Diary of an empty bed) has enough of that subtle poetry to move you. ‘He searches among the rubble of history for something that glows’, says Rasem half-way through. ‘He’ is the fear that beleaguers Iraq, but it could just as well be the theatre-maker himself. With this play he delivers an intimate gem for a violence-filled world.”

De Standaard

Dagboek van een leeg bed

Mokhallad Rasem / Toneelhuis

The starting point is the story of my own life, shich began in Baghdad and brought me to Belgium. But I’m not doing a documentary about my life and I don’t comment on political situations. I’m making a journey through the metaphors of the Arabic language, which is my mother tongue.” – Mokhallad Rasem

For twenty years, Mokhallad Rasem has built up a collection of personal notes on a daily basis, jotting down images that appear to him in his dreams, memories that rise to the surface and impressions that strike his fancy from the world around him. Now between an empty bed and a box full of memories, Mokhallad Rasem first expresses deep thoughts and intense emotions, then comes up with tranquil observations and surprising fantasies. And all of this in Arabic, his native language, for the first time.

Dagboek van een leeg bed (Diary of an Empty Bed) is a poetic invitation to think about the passage of time, about distanceand intimacy, about having to say farewell and start all over again.

concept, play & text Mokhallad Rasem | dramaturgy Erwin Jans | scenography Mokhallad Rasem | production Toneelhuis | production manager Tom Van Aken | video Paul Van Caudenberg | technique Dominick Geentjes | translation & surtitling Marthe Nelissen | set decoratelier Toneelhuis (Jan Palinckx, Karl Schneider, Patrick Jacobs, Senne Suls & Niels Antonissen) | costume kostuumatelier Toneelhuis (Cindy Dierckx, Monique van Hassel & Kathleen Van Mechelen) | thanks to technique Bourla & Erik Borgman
€18 (basic price) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 60 min.
language: Spoken in Arabic, surtitled in NL & EN

Toneelhuis

Mokhallad Rasem (°1981) is an actor and director who was born and trained in Bagdad. The war in Iraq changed the course of his life, and since 2005 he has been living and working in Belgium. He made a name for himself with the dazzling and physical Irakese geesten, which was constructed in an associative and fragmentary manner. He joined the team of Toneelhuis theatre-makers on 1 January 2013. Whereas at first he mostly concentrated on classical European repertory, over the course of time he has taken a more documentary approach. Projects like Body Revolution and Zielzoekers show an exceptional sensitivity for what being uprooted does to a person. Gripping, universal, and stubbornly hopeful.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“La poésie subtile de Dagboek van een leeg bed (Journal d’un lit vide) suffit à émouvoir. “Il cherche dans les gravats de l’histoire quelque chose qui brille”, explique par exemple Mokhallad Rasem à mi-chemin. “Il”, c’est l’effroi qui hante l’Irak, mais cela pourrait tout aussi bien être le metteur en scène de théâtre lui-même. Avec cette pièce, Rasem offre un bijou intimiste à un monde rempli de violence.”

De Standaard

“Dagboek van een leeg bed (Journal d’un lit vide) est un récit intimiste et poétique, personnel et universel, en paroles, en images et en sons.”

theaterkrant.nl

Dagboek van een leeg bed

Mokhallad Rasem / Toneelhuis

Je prends pour point de départ le récit de ma propre vie qui commence à Bagdad et m’a amené en Belgique. Mais je ne réalise pas un documentaire sur ma vie et ne commente pas des situations politiques. J’effectue un voyage à travers les métaphores de la langue arabe qui est ma langue maternelle.” – Mokhallad Rasem

Mokhallad Rasem réunit depuis vingt ans des notes personnelles : il consigne quotidiennement des images qui lui apparaissent dans ses rêves, des souvenirs qui émergent et des impressions qui s’insinuent dans son imaginaire à partir de la réalité quotidienne. Le tout, et pour la première fois depuis qu’il travaille en Belgique, dans sa langue maternelle, l’arabe.

Dagboek van een leeg bed (Journal d’un lit vide) est une invitation poétique à réfléchir sur le temps qui passe, sur la distance et l’intimité, les adieux et les nouveaux départs.

concept, jeu & texte Mokhallad Rasem | dramaturgie Erwin Jans | scénographie Mokhallad Rasem | production Toneelhuis | chef de production Tom Van Aken | vidéo Paul Van Caudenberg | technique Dominick Geentjens | traduction & surtitrage Marthe Nelissen | décor atelier décor Toneelhuis (Jan Palinckx, Karl Schneider, Patrick Jacobs, Senne Suls & Niels Antonissen | costume atelier costume Toneelhuis (Cindy Dierckx, Monique van Hassel & Kathleen Van Mechelen) | remerciements à technique Bourla & Erik Borgman

€18 (prix de base) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 60 min.
langue: Parlé en Arabe, surtitré en NL & EN

Toneelhuis

Mokhallad Rasem (°1981) est un comédien et metteur en scène né et formé à Bagdad. La guerre en Irak a cependant donné une autre tournure à sa vie : depuis 2005, il vit et travaille en Belgique. Il s’est fait remarquer avec Irakese geesten, son spectacle physique et fulgurant, à la structure associative et fragmentaire. Depuis le 1er janvier 2013, il est artiste associé à la Toneelhuis. Alors qu’initialement il s’attaquait surtout au théâtre de répertoire classique, chemin faisant il a adopté une approche de nature plus documentaire. Des projets comme Body Revolution et Chercheurs d’âmetémoignent d’une sensibilité particulière pour l’incidence du déracinement sur un être humain. Poignant, universel et obstinément porteur d’espoir.