het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUSSELS

TICKET SALE STARTS ON 06 AUG

“For an hour you hang on every word of a man hopelessly entangled in his attempt to define himself and the world around him. A moving portrait of the Western man in search of purpose and meaning.”

#jury20

ACT

Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company & Het Zuidelijk Toneel

In ACT, Kris Verdonck explores various aspects of the relation between the human on the verge of disappearing in the work of Samuel Beckett. ACT approaches Beckett in three ways: with a monologue with Beckett texts (Stories and texts for nothing), performed by Johan Leysen, with a scientist, invited to react to Beckett and with an autonomous scenography, a possible landscape for a Beckett text.

The variety and multidisciplinary approach reflect the complexity of Beckett’s work and are at the same time an attempt to literally take apart this complexity. The triptych of Science, theatre and high-tech show, as in three acts, each a different facet of the diamond ‘Beckett’. They deepen each other’s experience: a particular way of performing brings a scientific insight to life and vice versa, a performative scenography zooms in on the underlying world of or perhaps after the actor and offers a more contemplative experience.

director & concept Kris Verdonck | dramaturgy Kristof van Baarle | performer Johan Leysen | technical coordination Jan Van Gijsel | costume design Eefje Wijnings | production A Two Dogs Company & Het Zuidelijk Toneel | co-production Kaaitheater | with the support of Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government, The Flemish Authorities & the Flemish Community Commission | thanks to Dirk Van Hulle, Pim Verhulst & Jean Paul Van Bendegem
€18 (basic price) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)
duration: 75 min.
language: Spoken in EN, surtitled in FR & NL

A Two Dogs Company

As a director, Kris Verdonck explores the intersections of the visual arts, theatre, performance and architecture. He found beauty in the catastrophic in Conversations (at the end of the world) and Untitled. Over the next four years, he will research the connections between Beckett’s work – in which (the) Nothing occurs – and the secrets of 14th-century Japanese No-theatre.

In his artistic practice, Kris Verdonck appeals to scientists as well as technicians, engineers and – of course – performers. So it’s no longer just the work of one dog, but the work of several dogs together. Hence the name that refers to Friedrich Torberg’s poem: A Two Dogs Company.

het Theater Festival

03 SEP - 13 SEP 2020 BRUXELLES

VENTES DE BILLETS COMMENCENT LE 6 AOÛT

“Une heure durant, on est pendu aux lèvres d’un homme désespérément empêtré dans sa tentative de se définir et de définir le monde qui l’entoure. Un portrait émouvant de l’homme occidental en quête de sens et de signification.”

#jury20

“”

ACT

Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company & Het Zuidelijk Toneel

Dans ACT, Kris Verdonck explore divers aspects de la relation entre l’humain sur le point de disparaître dans l’œuvre de Samuel Beckett. ACT approche Beckett de trois façons : avec un monologue avec des textes de Beckett (Nouvelles et textes pour rien), interprété par Johan Leysen, avec un scientifique, invité à réagir à Beckett et avec une scénographie autonome, un paysage possible pour un texte de Beckett.

La variété et l’approche multidisciplinaire reflètent la complexité du travail de Beckett et constituent en même temps une tentative de démanteler littéralement cette complexité. Le triptyque de la science, du théâtre et du spectacle high-tech, montre en trois actes chaque fois une facette différente du diamant ‘Beckett’. Ils approfondissent l’expérience des uns et des autres : une façon de jouer fait soudain vivre une intuition scientifique et vice versa, une scénographie performative zoome sur le monde sous-jacent de l’acteur ou peut-être le monde après lui et offre une expérience plus contemplative.

concept & mise-en-scène Kris Verdonck | dramaturgie Kristof van Baarle | performer Johan Leysen | coordination technique Jan Van Gijsel | costumes Eefje Wijnings |
production A Two Dogs Company & Het Zuidelijk Toneel | coproduction Kaaitheater | avec le soutien de Tax Shelter du Gouvernement Fédéral belge, les autorités flamandes & la Commission de la communauté flamande | remerciements à Dirk Van Hulle, Pim Verhulst & Jean Paul Van Bendegem

€18 (prix de base) / €16 (65+) / €14 (-26/pro) / €10 (-18)

durée: 75 min.
langue: Parlé en EN, surtitré en NL & FR

A Two Dogs Company

En tant que metteur en scène, Kris Verdonck se situe dans la zone de transition entre arts plastiques, théâtre, performance et architecture. Dans Conversations (at the end of the world) et Untitled, il mettait déjà en lumière la beauté de la catastrophe. Dans les quatre années à venir, Kris Verdonck va se consacrer à une recherche sur les points de convergence entre l’œuvre de Beckett – dans laquelle ne se déroule rien ou juste le néant – et les secrets du théâtre traditionnel japonais nō du XIVe siècle.
La pratique artistique de Kris Verdonck fait aussi bien appel à des scientifiques qu’à des techniciens, des ingénieurs et bien entendu à des performeurs. Il ne s’agit donc plus seulement de la performance d’un chien, mais de l’interaction de plusieurs. D’où le nom de la compagnie, qui fait référence au poème de Friederich Torbeg : A Two Dogs Company.